Life: The Second Semester

Image-5So, we have successfully completed anther semester, though I think we barely made it out this term, like we barely made it out.

Regardless it has been a pretty crazy term. We all split up for a month to spend Christmas and New Years at home, which I suppose was quite nice, except, I didn’t think I would miss the-not-so-much-of-strangers-anymore group of people that I had met over the course of the first four months. All I wanted to do was rush right back to my uni home and swallow all my new friends in a great big hug and talk all about the time we spent away from each other.

I came back to uni a year older than I was the previous term, this alone left me feeling like a new woman, making sure to leave all things in the past and start afresh. Started 2017-04-07-PHOTO-00006179the term with my birthday nights out, but if I’ve learnt anything throughout term semesters at university is that nights out never and I mean NEVER got to plan, but I suppose that’s what makes them have the greatest stories. You’ve got the people who get on the bus with everyone else but can’t even count to three and have to turn straight around back to campus, or those who spend what probably was only 45 minutes but felt like a lifetime in the first aid room at the club, and everyone else hanging out with them making and eating toast the club provided for the sick person, or even just going out to have a good night because you’ve had a terrible night and it actually has a rebound effect so you leave early and feel even worse cause you paid entry money; so you all just sit in the kitchen and make tea, or even just having those friends who got so excited they didn’t even get into the club, and tried a numerous amount of times to get in, in result, leading them to just being band for the whole night, and spend the rest of the night getting lost in restaurants and encountering Image-2 (2)strangers to help them get to McDonald’s which was in-fact only around the corner, whilst their very sober best friend was just trying to get her on the train home, but of course that only took about 2 hours and that’s even with rage.

Nonetheless, nights out wouldn’t be remembered so well if they were perfect, but rather with the preference that they were just upside down completely crazy. I mean who would prefer something else?

Though, in the second semester you realise that you’re just too tired for daily nights out. In fact you are just too tired to do anything, most of everyone would have done nothing all day, would’ve even taken a nap and gone to sleep by midnight and still not be able to get up and get to their lectures the next morning. Instead on some nights you’ll be with your flat mates dancing the Image-7Macarena whilst eating pizza because you know, that’s just what uni students do on night they have so much work to do. That is probably the best description of myself on the last week of lectures, of I’m being brutally honest, but I’m sure that this was everyone on the last week. Of course I had the pleasure of having all my presentations due in on the last couple of weeks, with my so last minute group, who I actually bonded quite thoroughly with in the process of not actually working on the presentation when we were meant to, but instead drawing not so accurate representations of our lecturers on the library SMART board, forgetting that everyone in the library was watching us. Oops.

The daunting question of what do we do for residency next year comes much quicker than anyone expected, you could be a Flat Representative and live/take care of the first years or you could get a house with a couple of friends. My annoying-who-thinks-he-owns-the-place-but-doesn’t-even-own-toilet-paper Flat Representative spent a long time trying to convince me to apply, and don’t get me wrong I think it would be an amazing opportunity but the thought of just living in a house where I got to own a key was much Image-4more attractive. So that’s exactly what I did. Me and a couple of friends thought why not just do it and grabbed the first place that we saw, a very cute maisonette with double rooms and a cute view, right next to uni. I mean what more could you ask for? Signing a house at 19 never made me feel so adult than it did then, it officially stated that we weren’t little girls anymore, but more of independent women, and let me just say that it was probably the best feeling in the entire world. So we celebrated our victory with a burgers and milkshakes cause what’s a better reward than food? Now I have a consistency of excitement bubbling up inside of me till we all move in a few months and it’s not even because of the house but because of the really cute landlord that comes with it.

Then you come to the sudden realisation that first year is almost over, you’ve spent 8 Image-6months in a place you didn’t know you would be in a year ago and only have two months left. Which then leads you to realise only when you’re up with your best friend at 1am that you have come so far as individuals, and that perhaps you are different people that
you once were a year ago. Perhaps not difference in character, perhaps university only enhanced and enforced your character, but things are different in terms of your mindsets and your goals and things you believe in, all the way down to the simpler things like the way you talk or the way you dress. In sum of all that you’ve only changed in a more positive light, you’re still the same person you were 10 years ago, a year ago or even 6 months ago just slightly upgraded.

To say the least, this term has been filled with so much unexpectedness, new friendships, relationships, new goals, new trips, new laughs and obviously new clothes (cause new clothes are important).

The saddest part of it all is that you only have two months left till everyone has to Image-1 (1)officially move back home for the summer, and there’s such little time to do everything before everyone leaves, such as your amazing American friends who will leave and you’re not quite sure what you’ll do without them, as they won’t be coming back for a very very very long time. So in this two months, you plan all possible trips, soak up the sun as much possible, the you have the annoying nonesense people writing nonesense on
your giant whiteboard because they think they own the place, but really all they slightly own a cute pillow on your bed because you allowed them that one item, bake as much pancakes as you possibly can and eat as much as your possibly can. Do as many 4 mile runs that is possible to do in a week and just enjoy what is left. I’ve loved this term and I wouldn’t swap it for anything else, I’ve met incredible people that I don’t want to ever lose and had amazing experiences that I don’t ever want to forget.

Only a semester left everyone. See you then.

Azraa 🙂

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Chloe
    Jul 27, 2017 @ 19:14:23

    Hey what do you study at uni btw I really enjoy reading your blog x

    Reply

Leave a comment