Life: The First Semester

image-2This will be my first blog for this year, evidently I’ve been wrapped up in a year long whirlwind that has prevented me from writing posts as regularly as I did.

It has been quite an eventful year what can I say, a lot has been endured, through pain and happiness but it wouldn’t be this year without all of that. Doing a few of the toughest exams of my life, applying to university and then getting in.

But to say the least, I have successfully completed my first semester at university. Never did I ever think I would’ve made it to uni, moved out, get a new job and start to build my life. The constant tormenting, fearful thoughts that reoccurred in my mind in the months leading up to my departure of this comfortable life I had in my, very comfortable home, but what I actually experienced was nothing as close as tormenting, it was actually in fact, quite the opposite. I came to realisation that it was about time I took the role of being a woman and took independence in my stride. It was the boldest move I had ever made, but it is one that I would not take back. I finally opened my butterfly wings and decided that it was about time I moved out from home and dealt with myself as an individual. You know the typical move out of uni big girl thoughts, learn to cook for yourself, clean after yourself, do your washing etc… (well washing my clothes was debatable, sometimes it proved to be easier to just bring them home) Obviously it is not as easy as it sounds,  but it isn’t all that hard either. Of course the lazy side of you does take over every once in a while, but that can’t be helped. I spend my time most nights deciding the different curries that I should cook each week, whilst I indulge in a numerous amount of Gossip Girl episodes. Cleaning my room being the biggest challenge, I’ll spend an entire day cleaning it from top to bottom, making it as spotless as it could be, for it be to be trashed from top to bottom in less than 12 hours, although I do try to keep it clean for longer than that.

Moving out meant meeting new people, new people on your course, on your campus and of image-1course in your flat. I ended up sharing a flat with five other people, who by the way I thought I was going to hate (again here, I was tormented by the thoughts that they were horrible people who I couldn’t bare to live with) , turns out you should never judge a book by its cover, as they are the most amazing people I have ever met in my life. They have made my time at uni even more interesting than I could have ever expected. From my first night going from sitting around the table and getting to know each other, to jumping on a mountain of mattresses in the courtyard, to sitting on them and talking about life, to then waking up the next morning standing on the fresh cut lawn in confusion due to the fire alarm, thus leading to the end of the semester siting in a room together, cuddling and watching movies, being in a fit of tears cause life got hard, and to the struggle of saying bye to each other though it was only for the Christmas break, and for one of us saying goodbye until who knew when. Despite knowing these people for 3/4 months we have already endured a great deal of amount with each other, something that I am grateful for.

Freshers week! The best part of the year, the week dedicated to having the most fun you can ever have. Parties, little out door festivals on the front lawn and trips to Thorpe Park, definitely being the highlights. Buying your ticket is definitely worth all the memories. You meet amazing people that you either see again or never see again in your whole year, but I suppose that’s the beauty of it, just getting to know people even if it’s for a night. The many more nights after freshers lead to a whole list of things including:

  • Amusing yourself watching your friends get drunk and having to save them from humiliation by dragging them away, before they throw themselves onto more people from your course because they got excited by familiar faces.
  • Having your flat representative stroll into your room, drunk and dressed as a female, in a velvet skirt and tights, from being in the Christmas pantomime, absolutely convincing you that in those three hours he made a better female then you ever did in your whole life.
  • Or even just coming home from nights out and just walking and taking in the air and the beauty of the night, with the wild urge to bonnet skid and jump over fences.
  • Waking up at 8am, hearing your flat mate and her friends laughing their heads off still evidently drunk from the night before, this was not a one off by the way, it happened multiple times.
  • Scaring each other in the corridors cause you all happened to be exiting your rooms at the same time, which then somehow lead you all to be sitting the kitchen for hours chit-chatting.
  • Of course, strolling around London till the late nights for presentations, but really end up in a burrito shop, gawking over the pictures you took of London that day.
  •  Going to Christmas markets buying matching rings with the friend you’re sure you’ll have for a lifetime, to symbolise your new beginning together.
  • Last but not least being apart of your lovely adopted flats Christmas dinner, that they so kindly put together themselves. What image-3more could a girl ask for?

Leading up to the end of the semester, deadlines got tighter, and before you know it you’re sitting in the library till 3am wondering where the hell you went wrong in dedicating your time for this assignment, but then when finally finishing it, you remembered the beautifully filled feeling of joy you got from finally turning it in. Through it all, learning that timing is a funny thing along with sometimes the best things may not have the chance to be the best things if it weren’t for it. Leaving your 2am thoughts with, that is simply life and what is willed, will happen regardless, reminding yourself that instead of dwelling on the things that we cannot have in life, we must remember that we have much more. Much more to live for, much more to experience and much more to focus on.

Coming back home for Christmas and talking to long childhood friends just made me realise that, we are not longer kids playing games anymore, we are grown individuals who have grown enormously since leaving town this summer. Putting all our differences behind and just accepting everything for what it was, or is.

To say the least, I have thoroughly enjoyed my first term at uni, I think I’ve endured the most a person can in a semester, but not a single thing has lead to regret. Here’s to the next two terms.

Thanks for reading,

Azraa 🙂

Leave a comment